gwywnnydd: (DW-Living)
Sometimes I need a reminder of what "worst shift ever" looks like...

Long ago and far away, I worked in the rehab unit of a long term care facility. Which was staffed at LTC levels, even with the higher acuity. Meaning, there was 1 nurse for up to 26 patients.
The worst shift of my career, and the memory that got me through the pandemic (because nothing in covid was as bad as this day):
26 patients.
One RN, 3 CNAs.
7 diabetics, and I can’t delegate blood sugar checks (a quirk about my state laws that still leaves me bewildered and furious).
Four on IV antibiotics.
One wound vac, one wound vac pending.
All the patients had at least six meds, and there were a total of six routes of administration represented on the unit.

Report at 06:30, and then we’re off to the races. Run seven blood sugar checks, start pulling meds. Oh, there’s no Pyxis, all the prescriptions are in bubble sheets from the pharmacy, OTC are in large bottles, and controlled substances are in a locked drawer of the med cart, and need to be tracked on a hand-written log.
I’m rushing along, trying to stay on top of things, when one of my aides comes out of a room and says “um, Gwywnnydd? She’s seizing!” I go in, and it’s my girl who is POD4 from burr holes to relieve a subdural hematoma. Right, put her in recovery position, call 911 to get her back to the hospital. Start looking through her chart to see if she’s DNR (she came in yesterday, so her chart is incomplete). Fuck it, can’t find it. OK, well, hand her off to the paramedics, accept that everyone’s meds are going to be late today, and push on.
I am just wrapping up the morning med pass, when the facility doctor finds me and says “I unwrapped the dressing in 8b, you’ll need to re-dress it”. Oh, the trans metatarsal amputation in 8b? The one who came in last night and I’m still trying to chase down his IV meds and wound vac? That patient? Great, fuck you too, doc. Go in, yep, doc has left this fresh amputation open to air. I have NO idea how to dress this thing. Wound care nurse isn’t due until tomorrow. Ask an aid to run to the other wing and ask the nurse there to come advise me. Wait 10 minutes, which felt like sixty as I’m staring at these five transected bones. Nurse comes, has no useful advice. Excellent! Ok, Xeroform and Kerlix it is.
Pushing on. The usual stuff, the entitled bitch in 2b who clock watches for her pain meds (and has a series of conflicts with her roommate [who is the sweetest lady ever], but this is already long enough), the guy in 28a who obsessively masturbates (and requires a male sitter cause he’s already molested two nurses and another resident), the total care in 5 who has pressure injuries on all his bony prominences (who refuses all food and meds, and refuses to let us reposition him), just standard stuff.
Get through lunch, midday med pass, when one of my aides comes to tell me the guy in 8b is complaining of chest pain. Bugger. I call down the hall to another aide to get a set of vitals, *just* as that patient’s family walks past me. Yay, great timing folks! Ok, call 911 again, turns out it’s the same crew as this morning. Hi guys! Yeah, it’s been a busy day.
After that, it was just typical stuff, but I was so far behind that I was still working on the 5pm med pass when my shift ended at 7.
I have been wanting to have a place to share some of my work thoughts, without it being in the hands of Muckerberg et. al.
After *way* to long, I remembered this place.

So, I am going to be creating a new post filter, for the (mostly) uncensored thoughts about work crashing around in my noggin. Do let me know if you are interested. There will be adult language, dark (no, seriously, DARK) humor, and a fair amount of ranting about the state of the US healthcare system.
Returning to a blogging site that has functional paging. Be still my heart...
So, I have a history of under rating my needs. I also have a history of, we will say questionable judgement in my partners. The last two relationships (before the one I am in now) ended in ways that destroyed what mental strength I may have had.

The relationship I am in now has lasted significantly longer than I expected it to. It meets many of my needs. Not all, by a long shot, and some of the ones that aren't being met are pretty important to me. Now, I was warned from the beginning that this is how things would be, and for the most part I can cope. It would be easier if I could spread my needs across multiple partners, but I have been in the market for another partner for several years now, and aside from racking up an impressively long list of reasons why I am not fuckable to most of the people I know, I have gotten nowhere. So, this is what I have to work with.

But I miss having a partner who is emotionally available. [This is where my brain monkeys pipe up, and point out that the last two "emotionally available" partners were lying through their teeth, and so have I ever had a partner who met that criteria? My brain monkeys, beeteedubs, are assholes]
I know it's not just with me, my partner has been emotionally unavailable with all of his previous relationships. And though he claims he wants to change that, that's a really fucking big ask, and might be more than is possible.

So I have to determine if enough of my needs are being met to stay, or if
I need to end this and move on.
I don't want to end this. Aside from the obvious "I love him and we are good together", I don't do well alone. The last time I was alone, it was for years, and damn near killed me (not exaggerating, Bug is the only reason I am still here).
But I also don't want to stay in a relationship that is slowly killing the small amount of self worth I have managed to scrape together.

It is hard enough managing my twitch factors around being in a poly relationship at all. I don't believe that I have much to offer my partner as it is (please don't argue with me on this score, I know all the arguments against it, but for some reason I haven't been able to shake that belief over the thirty years I have been battling it), and realizing that his current other partner is much more likely to be able to pull off the 'relaxed and unattached' dynamic he is happiest with doesn't help.

I wish I could talk this over with him. But whenever I try to bring it up, I get silence. Lots of hugs, but still silence. And talking at him just hurts.
Man, this poly shit is HARD.

So, my partner admitted to having fooled around with someone this past weekend.
Someone he had frequently complained about advances from, and had averred time and again that it was never going to happen.

And now I'm left with the impression that 'never going to happen' means 'never going to happen, unless it seems like a good idea at the time'. Which, for those playing along at home, sounds an awful lot like the lip service I got from my Ex husband.
I try not to offload my emotional work on my partner, when I am aware it's MY work. Poly is not easy for me, it's not natural, and it's not ideal. I can do it, but it's hard. And I have an entire 7 piece matching set of baggage, with handles and wheels, about being told one thing about how my relationship looks, and then discovering the reality is different. So that is overshadowing my reaction, because I have that voice at the back of my head asking if I might be overreacting about this, because I got fed so many lines of shit by Bug's dad. Because I totally needed to be second guessing myself in all this.
But I DON'T know if this is an aberration, or another partner who will tell me what I want to hear, while doing whatever they want.

I WANT to be ok with him playing around. IT SHOULD NOT MATTER IF HE IS SHARING HIS PINK BITS WITH OTHER PEOPLE. It for fuck's sake should not send me into a hysterical spiral of insecurity about our relationship and my place in it, because I SHOULD BE ABLE TO TRUST THAT HE MEANS IT WHEN HE SAYS HE'S COMING BACK. And I hate that I am so easily thrown off balance.

Adding another layer to the conflicted feels, this happened on a night that we had plans to get together. Which he canceled. And apparently found someone else to snuggle with. While I slept alone. Which has NO SIMILARITY TO THE FIRST TWO YEARS OF MY RELATIONSHIP WITH J, NO WAI!

And I got shit for sleep, because I had anxiety, and then I got scary fucking dreams about being violated. Because FML.
This is the first time in... at least five years that I did anything, or was pleased to have the holiday acknowledged (J gave me a lovely bunch of delicately carved wooden roses in 2010. The week after I told him I wanted a divorce. Good idea, poor execution).

So, I was introduced to Japanese food (which I had little or no experience with beyond sushi), and then we went to see the latest Thor movie (sqwee! Loki!). And I may have found my next cosplay (cause seriously, don't y'all think I could pull off Frigga*?).

Having plans was something of a surprise, since a conversation earlier in the week had emphatically communicated that he would have other plans that day. But I guess his other plans got rearranged (don't know, didn't ask, don't care).

I'm having a great time.


*
I've inherited a lot of VHS tapes.
No, really, A LOT.

After filtering out the ones I intend to keep, and the ones of popular movies that are totally available on DVD, I have a long list of ones I'm happy to pass along to anyone who is willing to take them. I can't give them to a thrift shop, there's no market for them. But it seems a shame for these to just end up in the landfill..
So, if any of these appeal to you, ping me and we'll make arrangements to get them to you. Fair warning, a few I reserve the right to watch one last time before I send them your way =).

The Battle of Hood and Bismark (2002)
Joan of Arc (1999)
The Four Feathers (2002)
Ivanhoe (1982)
The Great War (1996) –four tape set
Reilly: Ace of Spies (1983) – five tape set
Swan Lake- Russian State Perm Ballet, 1992 performance
Let Him Have It (1991)
Becket (1964)
Hamlet (1948, Olivier)
Henry V (1946, Olivier)
The Student Prince (1954)
Zulu Dawn (1979)
The Nutcracker – The American Ballet Theatre, 1977
The Occult History of the Third Reich (1991) – four tape set
Elizabeth R (1992) – Documentary
The Roman Empire: In the First Century (2001)
Victoria & Albert (2001) – four tape set
Edinburgh Military Tattoo, 1987
Salute to the Edinburgh Tattoo (1981)
Macbeth (1948, Welles)
Julius Caesar (1970, Heston)
Antony and Cleopatra (1972, Heston)
Romeo & Juliet (Zeffirelli)
Richard III (1955, Olivier)
The Hill (1965)
Helen of Troy (1955)
Edinburgh Military Tattoo, 1988
Alexander Nevsky (1944, soundtrack 1994)
The Bruce (1996)
Heroes and Tyrants: Churchill (1994)
Waterloo (1970)
The Nutcracker Ballet- Ballet of the Slovak National National Theatre (1995)
The Nutcracker Motion Picture (1986)
Brideshead Revisited (1981) – six tape set
Paths of Glory (1957)
World War I: The Complete Story (1988) – five tape set
I, Claudius (1976) – seven tape set
Battlefield, Series 1 (1994) – twelve tape set
Battlefield, Series 2 (1996) – twelve tape set
Sink the Bismark (1960)
South Pacific (1958)
All Quiet on the Western Front (1979)
The 3rd Man (1949)
Tunes of Glory (1960)
The War Lord ( 1965)
Holocaust (1978)
I haven't been here in ... two months? Three?

Anyway.

Just sent my BFF Lawst back to Louisiana, after she spent a month with me. She and Bug bonded. It was good. I miss her terribly.

My Dad was very sick during pretty much all of Fall quarter, and died on December 31. I've been trying very hard to focus on school, with occasional distractions of the adult kind. That's a different post.

So, yeah. There should be more, I'm sure, but that's what I've got right now.
Finished my fourth quarter of nursing school. Go me! =D

Now I have five weeks of No School. Into which I am going to cram: A Mommy-and-Me trip to Wild Waves, the Gather, taking Evan to the airport and bidding a fond 'Adieu', a family trip to the Evergreen State Fair, September Crown, and hopefully lots of socializing.

In theory there will also be housecleaning and exercising, but let's be honest, those are questionable.
I need to see if I screwed up the oil+filter change, or if the clouds of blue smoke were just drippings burning off.
The camping trip is not-this-weekend-but-next.

EEEK!!

Must Do All The Things!
But I'm winning the battle, and I think I can get it to spit my brain back out week after next.

I hope. I need socializing.

Oh yeah, I've got people coming over tomorrow to do that... I should pick up the living room.
I don't update here as often as I would like. I feel like here, I need to put a little more effort into it, whereas on those *other* sites I can do mini-posts. And since I rarely feel like I have the Time or Energy to expend, this site languishes.
Sorry about that.

So, update.
Bike: Getting ready for the camping-riding trip at the end of August. Have the list of wrenching that HAS to happen before the trip hammered out, and the longer list of 'stuff that needs to be done before winter' penciled out. Since I don't have a covered space to work on the bike, I want to get the winter-commute stuff done before the rains start =).

Bug: Enjoying his summer. Wants to go to Wild Waves, and the Evergreen State Fair (we're going to be doing both, I just haven't decided if Wild Waves will happen before my school ends for the summer or not).

School: I got through the lecture part of the quarter, now I just have clinicals. Complex Health Disorders, on a Med-Surg floor. I love it. One of our clinical groups is at a site that is exclusively orthopedic surgery, and the patients are heavily screened for high chance of success. The clinical group is getting *just* a tiny bit... bored. They've BTDT, y'see. My clinical group has the widest range of stuff we're dealing with. =D

Oh, and I'm gardening. At least, I'm making another attempt at tomatoes. I think I'll get some good variety, and I'm hoping to get at least a couple of each of the heirloom strains I planted.
But I'm expecting that for my stocking up on tomato products, I'll be buying a couple of cases of tomatoes from the fruit market =).
A couple of weeks ago, I decided to grit my teeth and start widening my circles, in the dating search. So, I created a profile on the Stranger's Lovelab.

And either I've completely failed at understanding how to make my profile visible (possible), or I'm just not of interest to the users.
Not one nibble of interest.

Trying to decide if I should expand to other sites, or just become a bitter old cat lady (minus the cats, because my landlady/mother who lives downstairs is allergic).
OT: I've never understood why the break between winter term and spring term is called 'spring break'.
Possibly my confusion lies in the fact that I live in the land of the endless overcast drizzle. But the break between spring term and summer term TOTALLY feels more like spring break.

Aside from the daily arguing with Bug about his school (Yes, you really have to go to school this week. I know you don't want to, and I'm sorry I have to make you do something you don't want to do, but FFS get dressed already!), the break was awesome. Got some sewing done (I'm down to re-modifying one garb dress for Shifra, and then I'll have finished that project). Got my bike back in the wind (with many thanks to Rolf, who tweaked the thingy and made it go [please note careful use of technical terms], and promised to teach me how to do a u-turn). Got caught up on, like, 3 seasons of Supernatural. Got the tomato plants potted/ planted. Got topsoil on top of the grass seed in the back lawn (there needs to be more, but that's going to be an ongoing project).

Got out yesterday to a gathering of the ECCC volunteers, and am now all jazzed again for next year's comic con. I really can't decide if I want to do celebrity (assuming I can convince them I can be trusted not to drip fan-girl sqwee on the talent), or if I want to manage panels in the big room again (which got me in to almost a dozen panels of big names, which I got to watch WHILE I WAS WORKING. W00!). I have some time to decide, though.

Today, I'm actually going to get started on the reading for tomorrow's class. I may not be *done* with the reading by class tomorrow (8-10 chapters, in some dense books), but I'll have a good start. Which will be an improvement over every other term thus far =).

W00T!

Jun. 19th, 2013 10:00 am
3.6 for this quarter. Yay!

Today I get to help put up the Costco pavilion I sold to J&S three years ago. I really, _Really_, *REALLY* hope all the pieces are there.
I've had a busy couple of weeks. Now I have a break from school, for a week, which will probably be equally busy, if less dreary.
In the past two weeks I: Passed another quarter of nursing school (I think I pulled a 3.5 this quarter, but I wont know for sure until Wednesday), didn't kill my child, cleaned the public areas of my house to within an inch of their lives in preparation for hosting a gathering to celebrate my housemate's graduation, hosted a gathering to celebrate my housemate's graduation, and did a bunch of gardening.
Coming up this week, in some vague order:
Garb making/ repairing for a friend (must be completed by not-this-weekend-but-next)
Tearing into the motorcycle to figure out why it is unhappy and wont idle
Planting the tomato plants, and getting topsoil on top of the grass seed
Helping to raise a Costco pavilion for some friends

I'd like to also get some sorting and disposing of extraneous stuff in the Boy's room done. And the stuff that was dug out of the corners of the living room needs to be sorted and mostly disposed of (it's currently taking up space in my bedroom). That can be done while catching up on television. Evil-ish Sam Winchester is piquing my curiosity...
I'm still here.

I have an exam tonight, then my final on Wednesday, then I get ~10 days off before I have to do school and thinking again.

I have at least two seasons of Supernatural to catch up on, and then I have to find someone who is willing to let me hang out on their couch and watch Season 2 and 3 of Game of Thrones.
I spent most of this quarter thinking that school *wasn't* kicking my ass, and wondering if that meant I had forgotten something vital...

It turns out that no, I hadn't forgotten something vital, I really was on top of things. School was just saving all the overwhelming stuff for the last three weeks of the quarter. 5 papers, two quizzes, one exam, one final, and six days of patient care, in the next three weeks.

If you don't hear from me by about June 20, send help.
*sigh*

My car heard me thinking about how I would like a reason to talk to the cute guy at the auto shop. She decided to be 'helpful'. Gee, thanks, Salva.
Anyway, Monday. Car starts hiccuping and jerking as I am driving. Bad. So, I reroute to the auto shop, where the guy who's been kept busy keeping my cars going comes out to take a look at it. After exchanging a bit of information about what's wrong, he suggests a quick fix, and then gives me a ride to my place when I prefer not to wait around (it's about a mile, and totally walkable, except I had Not_Walking shoes on). Then came back an hour later to grab me, so I could give them money.
And I screwed up my courage, and as we were getting out of the car, I said "You know, you should call me sometime, NOT business related." He doesn't respond in an unquestionably positive way, so I change the subject back to the car.
Thursday, she starts it up again. I call, ask if I should be having them look at it, or just noting it and going on with my day. He offers to come over after work, and "we can go for a drive".
Okay, either you're interested, or you're *REALLY* going above and beyond with this customer service thing.
Drive around for a bit, determine what he thinks the problem is, he offers to pick up the part, and come by Sunday (today) to install it.
I'm totally lost at this point.

So, today. He comes by, doesn't knock on the door, just pops the hood on my car and gets to work. It took him seriously like 10 minutes to do, and I wouldn't have known he was there if I hadn't been watching for him.
He refused a cup of coffee, told me to give him a call tomorrow and let him know how it was going, and then took off.

*headdesk*

OK, am I just putting on my Egyptian Crown, or is anyone else seeing mixed messages here?
No? Just me then? Ah.
Went to go see the trailer park Taming of the Shrew yesterday. While it was well done, I was impressed with the sets and loved the costuming, it turns out that watching someone be manipulated into a complete personality shift is *WAY* more trigger-ey after my marriage, than it was the first time I saw the play.

But, I did learn that Henry V is one of the Wooden O productions this summer, which is awesome. The Tempest is the other, which I'm not as excited about, but one of you might be.
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 10:22 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios